Seven coaches honoured at Saskatchewan Sport Awards

Ryan Jones was named coach of the year after he guided three swimmers to achieve the minimum qualifying standard for the 2024 Paris Paralympic Games and was selected as part of the coaching staff for the 2023 Para Swimming Championships in Manchester. For his efforts, he won a 2023 Petro-Canada Coaching Excellence Award.

Jones was announced as the recipient for the award at the 2023 Saskatchewan Sport Awards on Feb. 1 at Queensbury Convention Centre in Regina. At the event, six recipients were named in Excellence Awards categories, while 12 dedicated individuals were honoured in either the Volunteer Dedication, Coach Dedication or Inspire Through Sport categories.

Maureen Johnson, (Baton Twirling), Don Larson, (Box Lacrosse), Hazem Hussein, (Swim), Pat Barry, (Football), Jason Cawkwell, (Swim) and Rob Sleeth, (Canoe/Kayak) were recognized for their devoted time and effort as coaches and were recipients of the Coach Dedication award.

More information on other recipients can be found at Sask Sport.