Saskatchewan Sport Awards celebrate outstanding coaches

For the first time since 2019, supporters from Saskatchewan and across Canada gathered in person to celebrate the finalists and recipients of the 2022 Saskatchewan Sport Awards on Jan. 26 in Saskatoon.

And the recipient for the Coach of the Year award went to Mary Carroll for a second straight year. Last year marked the most successful season for the Saskatoon Diving Club and Dive Sask, thanks to the work Mary put in with her athletes, three of which were finalists in Excellence categories. Top performances for her athletes include Presley Deck, who collected national gold before going on to compete at worlds. She also helped Rylan Wiens and Margo Erlam to silver and bronze medals at the Commonwealth Games and top 10 finishes at worlds.

The annual program celebrates the success and dedication of those in the province’s amateur sport community through two categories – Excellence Awards and Recognition Awards. The Excellence Awards celebrate outstanding event performances or a series of performances by a Saskatchewan athlete, coach or team within a given calendar year, while the Recognition Awards include the Volunteer and Coach Dedication Awards, as well as the Inspire Through Sport Award, all which honour individuals who have devoted their time and effort to the growth of sport in Saskatchewan.

“On behalf of Sask Sport and its membership, I would like to congratulate all of the Saskatchewan Sport Award finalists and recipients,” said Michael Rogers, Sask Sport Board of Directors Chair. “We are honoured to celebrate outstanding amateur athletes, teams, coaches and volunteers from across Saskatchewan. These individuals lead by example daily to show everyone that sport, truly, is more than a game and that sport brings so much to helping make Saskatchewan communities vibrant.

“The dedication and perseverance each award finalist and recipient shares make them great ambassadors for both sport and this province.”

The two other nominees for Coach of the Year are baton twirling coach Maureen Johnson and athletics coach Jason Reindl.

Also recognized were biathlon coach Doug Sylvester and volleyball coach Tracey Hazen, who were presented with Coach Dedication Awards in the Recognition category.